General NewsPolitics

I’ll Never Betray NPP MPs Who Voted For Bagbin – Muntaka Mubarak

The MP for Asawase, Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak, says it will be unfair to disclose the identities of his colleagues from the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who voted for Alban Bagbin as Speaker for the 8th Parliament.

Mr. Bagbin, who is a stalwart of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), was historically elected the Speaker of the 8th Parliament on Thursday, January 7, 2021.

The former Nadowli Kaleo MP beat off competition from NPP nominee, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye.

This is the first time in Ghana’s history that a candidate from the opposition party has been elected as Speaker of Parliament.

Speaking to Accra-based Asempa FM, Mr. Muntaka said after lobbying some NPP legislators, he got the impression that two of them were undecided about their choice.

Pushed to disclose the identities of those who swayed the votes in favour of Bagbin, the Asawase MP said he will never betray them.

“That will be very unfair to them. I will never betray them,” he replied.

In a separate interview, Mr. Muntaka disclosed that he spent more than two weeks convincing his colleague legislators to vote for Alban Bagbin as Speaker of Parliament.

According to him, he held talks with lawmakers from both the NPP and the opposition NDC.

Mr. Muntaka said he explained to the MPs that it was in the national interest to elect a Speaker outside the ruling government.

“And I spent almost two and a half weeks after the election trying to reach out to as many members not only on our side but on the other side as well,” he told Joy News.

“We were trying to let them understand that this was in our national interest to get a Speaker on the other side so that we can put a check on the executive.”

For any adverts kindly send your ads or stories via email – or WhatsApp 0557449200

SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube Channel @bibinitv Instagram @bibini_tv Twitter @bibiniqwaku

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: