General NewsPolitics

Joe Wise and Fomena MP Elected 1st and 2nd Deputy Speakers of Parliament

Ghana’s legislators have unanimously selected Joseph Osei Owusu otherwise, Joe Wise and Andrews Amoako Asiamah to serve as First and Second Deputy Speakers, respectively, of the 8th Parliament.

The pair was selected for the positions following a consensus between the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Joe Wise was nominated by the NPP for the First Speaker role, while Fomena MP, Mr. Amoako Asiamah was also nominated by NDC to serve as the Second Speaker.

The nominations of both men were duly approved by newly sworn-in Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin.

The contest for the Speaker of Parliament was earlier between incumbent Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye and Hon.Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin.

However, there was confusion when Tema West MP snatched the ballot papers while counting was ongoing and attempted to run with it.

He was, however, chased by some legislators from the National Democratic Congress (NDC), sparking chaos in Parliament.

Despite the chaos that interrupted the counting process, the Clerk of Parliament later announced Mr. Bagbin as the elected Speaker of the next 8th Parliament.

Following his successful election, the former Nadowli Kaleo MP went ahead to inaugurate the 8th Parliament.

For any adverts kindly send your ads or stories via email – or WhatsApp 0557449200

SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube Channel @bibinitv Instagram @bibini_tv Twitter @bibiniqwaku

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: