General NewsPolitics

Of the 10 hotspot constituencies, Ketu North, Banda & Awutu Senya East

Ahead of the December 7 presidential and parliamentary elections, ten hotspot constituencies have been established.

This includes settlements on the frontier and non-border ones.

This was announced in Accra on Thursday 22 October by the Executive Secretary of the Commission for Small Arms and Light Weapons, Jones Borteye Applerh, at the unveiling of the ‘Ballot without Bullet’ initiative initiated by the Commission.

Given this, ten hotspot constituencies comprising six border constituencies and four non-border constituencies have been targeted by the ‘Ballot Without Bullet’ project.
The border constituencies are Jirapa, Ketu South, Jomoro, Wulensi, Banda, Chiana Paga, while the non-border constituencies are Awutu Senya East, Offinso North, Gomoa West, and Upper West Akim.

In addition, Mr. Applerh noted that the porous nature of the borders of Ghana is a leading factor in the smuggling of illicit weapons to Ghana.

Before, during, and after the election, we need to influence the behaviour of citizens through public awareness and education about the dangers of gun abuse.

“The porous nature of our borders has been a significant source of the illegal movement of weapons into this country.”

Read more news here

By Laud Nartey||Ghana


Professional web developer, graphic designer, digital marketing expert, video editor, programmer, digital skills educator, and many more... Contact me through,, or on WhatsApp: 0540702288 for any business or help.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: